McKenna’s day of milestones

16 Jan

McKenna news:
Today McKenna rolled back to belly. At least 5 times if not more! I have video of some of it, but blogger is being slow and not uploading the videos right now.
:sigh:
She also let out a couple huge belly laughs. It was the cutest thing EVER! Eric and I both looked at each other and laughed in shock. We tried to get her to do it again, but she became camera shy and wouldn’t let us capture her giggle today. Maybe tomorrow.
What a day for milestones!
And finally we are getting a hang of “drowsy but awake” putting her down for naps. Naps are like pulling teeth, but sticking to our routine of swaddle, noise maker and rocking I’ve been able to put her into her crib almost asleep but not quite. She then falls asleep while I have my hand on her. This is huge considering how much she fights sleep, HUGE! I’m not into sleep training she’s too young, but it’s never too early to help create good sleep habits so we’ve been working hard at it.

Mommy news:
Today was our first Mom’s meetup playdate. It was great to get out and meet other Moms, even though the kids were a little older it was fun! I look forward to a lot more including Baby storytime every Thursday at the Library!
Onto the diet update, today was my first bite of a carb/bread/wheat product in almost 2 weeks. Ohh it was heavenly. Going onto phase 2 of South Beach we can start introducing a small amount of whole grains. Today was a bran vitatop. Oh delish! For dinner we had a small lean hamburger patty in 1/2 of a whole wheat pita. Yummy and good for us, say it isn’t so. I’ve been coming up with so many great recipies lately thanks to SB and a bit of imagination. Down 8 lbs in 1 1/2 weeks now I just have to find time to workout. Although McKenna gives me a pretty good workout as it is lately.
At the end of the day, around 9pm Eric and I sit down for dinner and I can barely move. Bending and picking up McKenna all day long is wearing on my hips and back, this weight needs to come off soon so I am not sore at night! I am really excited about cooking at home all the time though. Eric helps which is even better since it gives us some together time during the busy day.
Our little family makes me so happy. It is the greatest thing in the world. At the end of the night when I am exhausted and can’t think straight … like while typing this, I can’t help the gush of love I have for Eric and McKenna.

Leave a Reply

